Home » Uncategorized » July 19, 2013

July 19, 2013

defend

George Zimmerman Discussion Thread – Post Verdict

#

Sex

Age

Race

Family

P. Video Interview

D. Video Interview

Information/Comments

B29

F

40s

Hispanic

Married 10 years, 8 kids

B29 Prosecution

B29 Defense

Recently moved to central Florida from Chicago. She enjoys watching the “Real Housewives” on television and works as a nurse on an Alzheimer’s section of a nursing home. She said she hadn’t paid much attention to the shooting. She said she has been arrested, but her case was disposed of. It’s not clear why she was arrested or exactly what happened to her case, though she said she was treated fairly. She is married and has several children. A prosecutor described her as “black or Hispanic” during jury selection.
 

 

B76

F

50s

White

Married, 2 kids

B76 Prosecution

B76 Defense

Has lived in central Florida for 18 years. She manages rental properties with her husband of 30 years. She has two adult children, including one who is an attorney. She is involved with rescuing animals in her free time. During jury selection, she said she had been the victim of a nonviolent crime. “Everyone deserves a fair trial,” she said. The prosecutor wanted this juror struck.
 

 

B37

F

50s

White

Married 20 years, 2 kids

B37 Prosecution

B37 Defense

Volunteers rescuing animals. She is married to an attorney and has two adult children. She said she and her husband used to have concealed weapons permits. During the last round of questioning, she said she had an issue with the type of weapons people are allowed to carry. She also thought weapons’ training was inadequate for people seeking permits. “It should become harder,” she said. She has let her permit lapse.
 

 

B51

F

60s

White

Unmarried, no kids

B51 Prosecution

B51 Defense

Retired, not married and doesn’t have kids. She has lived in Seminole County for nine years. From Oviedo who has a dog and 20-year-old cat. She has worked in real estate and run a call center where she said she had experience resolving conflicts. When asked if Zimmerman did something wrong by following Martin instead of waiting for police, she said: “Yeah, I guess he did do something wrong.”
 

 

E6

F

20s

White

Married, 2 kids

E6 Prosecution

E6 Defense

Warned kids not to give “false impression” about themselves. A young white woman and mother who used to work in financial services. She used this case as an example to her adolescent children, warning them to not go out at night.Husband an engineer. Children are 11 and 13. Husband and son have guns. Victim of Domestic Abuse. Unemployed, volunteers at kids’ school. 2-year Seminole Co. resident, had lived in Orange Co. since 2004. Saw an innocent person go to prison. The prosecutor tried 3 times to get this juror struck.
 

 

E40

F

60s

White

Married, 1 son

E40 Prosecution

E40 Defense

Moved to FL from Iowa in Nov. 2012. She heard national-news reports and recalls the shooting was in a gated community and a teenager was killed. Worked as safety officer, husband is a chemical engineer. Son is 28. Was on jury 20 years ago in Pa. drug dealing case. She shared she has been a victim on a nonviolent crime. She describes herself as a football fan.
79 thoughts on “July 19, 2013

  1. Thank you again, Nettles, for keeping this thread open.

    We really do have some remarkable people here. Bori’s earlier post should help open the eyes of everyone of us. His life experiences are extraordinary and his words have left me speechless for now. What an incredible journey he has traveled. I only wish we could all see our nation’s “anger” through his open and honest prism. I believe, in the final analysis, that there are only two things in life…. We are either living in state of Love or one based in Fear.

    Constriction in my lungs
    An aching in my gut
    Dis-ease envelops my body
    Lost to the abyss
    My breath shallow
    Feelings of frustration, unworthiness
    Resignation reigns
    Looking through the eyes of a fool
    Seeing my anger in your face
    Hearing my self-judgment in your voice
    Experiencing abandonment in your presence
    Myopic vision
    Silent depression
    The big lie

    But Wait
    With ears ready to listen
    The truth of my dis-ease is revealed unto me
    What I thought was you
    Was really me

    It is time to Love all that I see
    Honor my Truth
    Love me
    With one sweet breath
    I remember
    The Divine Creation
    Embracing the fullness of life
    My body finally at ease
    I surrender to Love
    In gratitude, on my knees

  2. I am watching Sybrina and Tracy on Anderson Cooper and they are basically saying this is about race. It is sickening. I knew they were lying the whole time about “this isn’t about race” and it was only a matter of time that their true colors would come out

    They twist juror B37’s words and I better quit typing. Grrrrrr

    http://ac360.blogs.cnn.com/

  3. ‘Stand-Your-Ground’ Law Stays: Florida Governor

    Protesters who set up camp in the state Capitol building earlier this week finally got to meet with Gov. Rick Scott late Thursday, and they urged him to push for the repeal of Florida’s “stand-your-ground” law and to take steps to combat racial profiling.

    In a conference room near his office suite, Scott met for nearly an hour with seven leaders of the protest, which began Tuesday. They described their frustration about last weekend’s acquittal of George Zimmerman in the death of Trayvon Martin and their own experiences of being racially profiled.

    http://abcnews.go.com/US/wireStory/gov-scott-meets-protesters-state-capitol-19709215

    Governor Scott has moved on, he spoke w/Sybrina earlier & EXPLAINED TO HER that SYG would stand! LMAO! Giving ULTIMATUMS is always a bad idea for protestors, I hope the MEDIA covers this when they tire & leave.

    • Art, Last year federal prosecutors told them they could not bring federal charges. Holder said so as well. Of course since then Dems. and anti 2nd amendment people have crawled from the wood work. They lost Chicago. They lost two major Supreme Court cases and since 2007 many more states have followed Florida in immunity for self defense. They are saving face. In the end it does nothing more then divide us. But know you are the majority after the verdict. That should say something.

      • dannywarrior – this is what drives me crazy. Governor Scott surrendered to the threats of riots, violence, boycotting the first time by appointing Corey to quell the threats & shut them up, maybe Governor Scott will not likely be STUPID twice. imo, Governor Scott/Bondi accomplished nothing, they have the SAME problems as they did BEFORE Corey acted on behalf of Scott & Bondi.

        I continue to read the ignorance on a National level with those criticizing DON’T EVEN UNDERSTAND 23 other states have a form of SYG. You are absolutely correct, that this ONLY divides us as a Nation, as we are ALL Americans. Self Defense has always be an option in an attack in all 50 States.

        MOM/West have done a GREAT job of doing the MEDIA BLITZ on behalf of GZ, I want them to FILE ANYTHING to punish those that continue to act irresponsibly, if they DON’T, this may never end. NOTHING speaks louder than a lawsuit that forces the accused to HIRE LAWYERS, such as Sybrina/Tracy for all the slanderous lies they continue to promote.

          • That was painful to watch no only to my eyes but to my ears, the man looks to be about 80, though he is not. I have people say that they elect people who they deserve, no one deserves him to their representative in Congress, sad.

      • OMG…This guy is a congressman? My favorite quote…”There is evidence that Trayvon Martin is dead”

        I don’t know whether to laugh or cry.

    • I saw this. Had to turn the channel. Rushes suit and tie hurt my eyes. Thank God I am not a part of Congress or I would have no patience giving this man floor time. I do not think like him but could read his very slooooooooow script better then him. Geez.

    • Is it wrong to think it’s scary that folks like this hold public office…????

      He doesn’t have two brain cells in his head to rub together.

  4. The ongoing harassment of Zimmerman by DOJ will be part of Obama’s Legacy. Barack and Michelle need to take some parenting classes.

    • cassandra – you are absolutely right.. Obama’s administration has been shrouded in scandal after scandal from the cover up in Benghazi & Hillary Clinton, “Fast & Furious” in which Holder HID LETTERS from whistleblowers & guns were provided to the cartels, the ILLEGAL tapping of MEDIAs phones & other innocent Americans was appalling but ONLY made news for a couple of days, the IRS scandal in which the Administration TARGETED conservatives which scares the hell out of me!

      WHERE is the OUT RAGE? This has been the MOST CORRUPT administration of my lifetime. The DOJ & Obama have HUGE scandals over shadowing anything positive they can accomplish for their employer’s, the AMERICAN PEOPLE, the taxpayers., WHY they have chosen this fight appears, imo, is a diversion tactic from the REAL problems Americans face.

      We are observing a “HATE CRIME” against GZ being orchestrated by those profiting from lies, ignorance, & promoting racial unrest.

      • I never was fooled by Obama, we were Hillary supporters from the start. If Hillary makes any more statement in support of TM I will forever change my view of her. The line is drawn. Protect working people from thug culture. It ain’t take complicated.

    • Another great video! I admire his desire to talk to people in prison and tell the NAACP, Al and Jesse that they’ve lost their way.

  5. Obama made a speech about the GZ/TM case a few minutes ago. I missed it, but I’m seeing news about it. From what I’m seeing, he did *not* do anything to calm the matter but rather said something inflammatory. I can hardly wait until the video is available. This is disastrous.

    • That is what I am afraid of. I am so thankful that Don West was a FEDERAL DEF LAWYER! He will know the ropes… Praying hard it doesnt come to that, but after today… 😦

    • To say I am disappointed, would be a lie, to some extent. It does not surprise me, that the President is once again taking the low road. Making the GZ case about race, even though race had nothing to do with it, except in their racist minds. I will agree that the pot smoking young Thug that TM was could have been the President. The problem is that TM was so much more, and the young males that identify with the President feel vindicated, the President just said he was the same at their age. For a President he puts his foot in his mouth, too much.

  6. If Obama wants to bolster African American young boys, he has to address the issue of fatherless families and the issues of morality that surround that. Last time Obama mentioned that, Jesse said he wished he could cut his %%%s off. Obama if you can’t be honest about the problem, then please be silent until you develope the courage to tell the truth.

    • imho, it is completely disgraceful for a sitting president to comment on a pending criminal cases. Professor Obama must have missed first year ethics in law school.

      i did make the mistake of voting for him in his first term; but i voted republican after i realized what a joke of a president obama is. This country has degenerated into 53% of the population working to support the other 47%. No good can come from that. We are more and more in debt and the good ole USA is not far behind Detroit in filing for bankruptcy. Our national debt exceeds our ability to pay it back.

      But our Dear Leader is worried about race relations now? Please!

  7. Sorry if duplicate

    Trayvon Martin’s brother interning in office of Florida congresswoman
    By Frank Thorp and Matthew DeLuca, NBC News

    The brother of Trayvon Martin, whose shooting death by George Zimmerman gained international attention over the past year, is currently serving as an intern for Rep. Frederica Wilson, D-Fla., her office confirmed to NBC News.
    http://nbcpolitics.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/07/19/19563695-trayvon-martins-brother-interning-in-office-of-florida-congresswoman?lite

    • This is just sad. Jaharvis “seems” like a good kid. I lost a lot of respect for him for lying on the witness stand but understand the pressure he was under given his age. I hate to see him being swept under the wings of such a corrupt and evil individual as Frederica Wilson. We need to keep him in our prayers.

  8. This was sent to me and some more friends on fb. Wanted to share. GOD BLESS AND BE WITH US ALL
    137 Cities now on the list:

    This is the latest list of locations for the Trayvon Martin protests against white gun owners, American courts, jury verdicts, and the Rule of Law.

    All Americans please avoid these areas on Saturday July 20 as the likelihood of violence and property destruction are very high based on events like these seen in several states!

    PLEASE TAKE ALL APPROPRIATE AND LEGAL STEPS TO PROTECT AND PROVISION YOUR FAMILIES DUE TO THE HIGH PROBABILITY OF NATIONAL CIVIL UNREST CAUSED BY AL SHARPTON.

    http://www.alipac.us/f9/locations-al-sharptons-protests-trayvon-martin-against-white-gun-owners-283652/index2.html

  9. Thank GOD THAT DON WEST QUIT HIS JOB AS A FEDERAL DEF ATTNY, AND HE JOINED GEO TEAM. THIS IS AN ADDED PLUS FOR GEO, Don knows this stuff!!!! Prayers

  10. Nettles,
    Thank you for all your work on following this case and standing up for what is right, not what is politically convenient. All of the bloggers who supported GZ had different angles and strengths; I think all of you did a great job trying to inform people about the truth, not the spin.

    What is next for you now?

    • Thanks. I’m back to advocating for the poor, hungry and homeless in my hometown. I just got home from a meeting at a local soup kitchen.

      I was encouraged to learn the need is on the decrease over last year. Thank Goodness but still work to do.

  11. nettles, I want to thank you for keeping the blog open a bit longer. I was so happy when the verdict came out “not guilty” – but that wonderful feeling was stolen away about an hour later when the prosecution was interviewed and said “murderer” is the word that sums up GZ. And then (a few hours later….?) you put up your “goodbye” post, and even though you’ve been clear that you’d be gone when the trial was over, it felt like a slap in the face; I almost felt like I was in shock, it felt so fast and abrupt. And then of course “everyone” was out there misrepresenting what happened, trying to further persecute GZ…. Someone (I actually think it was you) said that we were right back where we were 16 months ago – and that is so true.

    So, I know blogging “isn’t your thing”, but you’re awfully good at it, and your blog has been a voice of sanity in a world gone crazy. So while we know you need to go one of these days, and while you owe no one anything, please know that there are many of us very thankful you are here for whatever time you are….. 🙂

    • Thanks Carol for your kind words. I really thought this was over with the verdict and it was time to say good-bye.

      I’m so disappointed with the reaction and yes, it is apparent that no matter what comes forth, it will not be believed. Minds are made up.

      I find myself like a fish out of water. I really really like Barack Obama put his words were so divisive today. I’m extremely disappointed.

      I’m also a fan of CNN and Anderson Cooper is my go to guy for news. His interview of Trayvon’s parents left me furious. His slogan “keeping them honest” is a joke to me now. Piers Morgan, if I heard him right, thinks GZ did deserve to be beat up for looking at Trayvon suspiciously. I can’t believe it.

      The blog will be available as long as people need it. Coreshift told me I was premature and he’s right. I was too quick to turn the corner on this one. George needs voices in his corner and he can count on mine and I’m very glad the commenters here give their voice too. Thanks so much for being a part of it and again thank you for the kind words.

      • Darn, you interpreted my code! I’ll have to write my screen name in cursive, then no one will be able to know who I am lol

        Sounds like you might be experiencing something like I did during the 2008 primary – I will just note that I’ve never liked Obama since learning about him during the primary – but the upshot is that I learned that people, institutions, groups, and a political party that I had believed in weren’t what I thought they were. It was like all of a sudden I could see things as they really were – like that movie where you have to decide whether to take the red pill or the blue pill, I can’t remember which is which, but one keeps you in fantasyland, and one lets you see reality, with all its warts.

        The last straw was May 31, 2008 when they stole Hillary’s delegates to give to Obama to make him the winner. I immediately became an independent and will never pledge allegiance to a party again. But at first I felt very adrift. There were tons of people just like me, but not having a “home” (the party) was very disorienting. Now I’d never go back. Now I watch both sides and see how alike they are – in it for themselves or their own agendas, and we’re just handy things to manipulate. When the GZ case came to my attention, I was first drawn to it because I recognized the same political and journalistic manipulations.

        So if you’re feeling a little disoriented, seeing people you believed in a different light, please know it gets better. Much better. Being able to see more clearly is actually a wonderful gift. It just hurts and is confusing at first lol

        • I’m with ya, I left the Democrats early this week, Holder’s abuse of power and the teacher union petition pushed me over the edge.

          I my join my son a scientist who is a complete cynic on government and politics.

Leave a Reply

